Posts

Showing posts from September, 2023

Japanese Grand Prix 2023

Image
(Photo by David Mareuil/Anadolu Agency via GettyImages) Qualifying Result Max Verstappen Oscar Piastri Lando Norris Race Result Max Verstappen Lando Norris Oscar Piastri Last year when it was the Japanese Grand Prix, I decided to get up super early to watch the race. The race that was mostly red flagged due to the weather conditions. So this year I was left with a dilemma; do I get up early on one of my 2 days off a week to watch a race that may not really happen or do I have a lay in and watch the race later?  I obviously woke up at the arse crack of dawn to watch the race... And I was not disappointed! Sure, normal service was resumed with Max Verstappen's quest for world domination but I think this was one of the most exciting races of the year so far. But while we're on the subject of Max, I can't help but feel like he deserves a better teammate. I don't know what Perez was doing today or what he's been doing the back half of the year but his chaos is surely rai...

Singapore Grand Prix 2023

Image
(Photo by Kym Illman via GettyImages) Qualifying Result Carlos Sainz Jr (!!!!) George Russell Charles Leclerc Race Result Carlos Sainz Jr (!!!!!!!!!!) Lando Norris Lewis Hamilton Well first of all, what a qualifying session! Both Red Bull's out in Q2, Liam Lawson P10 in his second race (for the hardest race!) and Carlos got his second pole in a row! But it was the end of the weekend for Lance Stroll after putting his car in the barrier, breaking the car to a degree that couldn't be fixed overnight (or over day I guess...). I'm a Lance fan, but even if I wasn't, I'd be terrified for him. The way his head rattled around, it was amazing his neck didn't snap. Thank god for all the safety developments! Seeing him get out of the car, I felt like I could finally relax again. Wishing Lance a speedy recovery. Hope to see him back in Japan next weekend. Time to go racing! Right that got off to a pretty boring start after the first couple of laps. Poor Yuki though, it'...

Milking It: The History of the Indy500 Tradition

Image
  (Photo by Brian Spurlock/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images) Quick note from me: I originally wrote this about 2 weeks after the 107th Annual Indy500 and submitted it to a publication I was writing for at the time. Sadly, they never posted it and also never posted anything again that I'm aware of. I kept checking for about two months and admitted defeat as it was really a time sensitive article. I debated just posting it to my blog for ages but it didn't feel morally write as I didn't write it for me. I asked for my Mum's advice but she said she didn't care because she was watching TV and didn't understand what I was talking about... Cheers Ma... I've finally bitten the bullet and decided to put it up here as a filler post for a non-race weekend, I hope you enjoy! So we recently saw the 107th Annual Indy500. As a recent IndyCar convert I was baffled by the whole ‘Winners Drink Milk’ tradition so, as a history nerd, I absolutely had to read into what the hell...

Bonus Blog: F1 Dreams 4, 5 & 6

Image
                                          (Photo by Marco Canoniero/LightRocket via Getty Images) So over the last couple of months I've had a few F1 related dreams but none long or detailed enough to write a substantial post about. But the one I had last night, I absolutely had to share with you all so I thought I'd write about the other two to build up to the weirdest one so far. I hope you enjoy the weirdness my brain continues to produce... Dream 1 So the first dream. A HAAS car broke down. Not sure which driver it was, I'm leaning more toward Hulkenberg... But I basically got tasked with locating where it had stopped. Weirdly, it was parked outside of my friend's Grandma's house in a suburb of Leeds and the driver was nowhere to be seen. I called a recovery vehicle and that was that. See, not that exciting?   Dream 2 Every F...

Italian GP: Monza 2023

Image
  Qualifying Results Carlos Sainz Jr (I threw my beer everywhere) Max Verstappen Charles Leclerc Race Results Max Verstappen Sergio Perez Carlos Sainz Jr GUYS CARLOS HE'S BACK BABY! FERRARI ARE BACK?!  AND HE GOT DRIVER OF THE DAY! I FEEL ENERGISED, MY SOUL IS CLEANSED. But also how shitty are people to then rob him outside of his hotel. This is why we can't have nice things... Someone else who woke up and chose violence on Sunday was Lewis Hamilton. Hamilton was slapped with a 5 second time penalty following contact with the McLaren of Oscar Piastri. Overall it was a tough day for the Mercedes drivers as George Russell was also hit with a 5 second penalty following a battle with Esteban Ocon, ending up with him leaving the track and being deemed to gain an advantage by the stewards. Poor little Yuki though, his race didn't even get started. His AlphaTauri ground to a half during the formation lap and causing a delay to the start of the race. How wholesome was it though see...