Posts

Showing posts from February, 2024

We Need to Talk About Christian...

Image
  (Photo taken from the Red Bull Twitter/X account) So before I get into this, I just want to say that in this post I will be looking at ALL sides of this, guilty or not guilty. Just hang fire there Christian fans. I say this after getting a lot of heat on Twitter/X after I made a silly little joke about the situation. Clearly my sense of humour is not everyone's taste... The situation, as I'm sure you'll all be aware by now, Red Bull Racing F1 Team Principle, Christian Horner, has had some allegations made against him. The allegations include controlling behaviour of a female colleague and sexually suggestive messages being sent. There is also allegedly evidence to back this up which is being investigated outside of Red Bull, with a conclusion being expected before the season opener next week (or this week, or in the past, depending on when you're reading this). Horner has obviously denied the claims and has continued to hold his position, attending the recent testing ...

Local Legend, Mike Hawthorn

Image
  (Photo credits unknown to me, obvs not taken by me though...) So before we get cracking, I just need to cover a bit of background information on myself. I live in a small town in Yorkshire with not much going for it (in my opinion obviously). One of the best things about it is the train station so you can leave the place. Even then you can only get to a couple of places without changing trains and you certainly can't leave Yorkshire without making that change.  Now imagine my surprise when I found out that one of the towns the train passes through was home to an F1 champion! Not only an F1 champion but the UK's first F1 champion! The man in question is Mike Hawthorne, 1958 F1 champion with good old Ferrari. John Michael Hawthorn was born in Mexborough, South Yorkshire (just 30 miles from my hometown). His career in Motorsport was really inevitable, with his Dad racing motorcycles and owning a garage that supplied to companies such as Ferrari and Jaguar. His Dad would sa...

Red Bull 2024 Car Launch

Image
  (Photo from Red Bull Racing's Twitter/X) And for the final 2024 car launch, Red Bull released the RB20. It's literally last year's car. That'll be all!  What do you guys think? Let me know in the comments or on my socials, linked below! Twitter/X Instagram

Mercedes 2024 Car Launch

Image
  (Photo from the Mercedes Team Twitter/X) Happy Valentines day you lovely people!  Single or loved up, what better way to celebrate than the penultimate car launch for the 2024 F1 grid. Yeah I know McLaren 'launched' their car as well today but they already did that in January so this ain't about them... So let's talk about the W15! I really like it! It's not my favourite Mercedes livery. I'm aware last year's car didn't perform super well but that livery, hot damn! My emo dream F1 Car... But this one is good and if you just look at it from the angle in the photo above, it's still super emo! Right? Anyway, that's all I have to say about the W15 for now, I'm looking forward to seeing it and all the other cars in action for preseason testing. What are your thoughts on Mercedes challenger for the year? Let me know in the comments or via my socials, linked below. Join me tomorrow for the final car launch (it's Red Bull, let's face it, it...

Ferrari 2024 Car Launch

Image
 (Photo taken from the Ferrari team Twitter/X) Okay so after Carlos spoke out about his future and the fact he feels calm about it, I'm going to cut Ferrari some slack. I still don't understand the choice but he's proven his talent and I'm sure another top team will snap him up for 2025. Anyway, we're here for the car, not contracts. So first off, I was so annoyed at myself because I'd accidentally scheduled a meeting at work for the same time the SF-24 was due to launch. But then the F1 gods looked down on me and the meeting got moved to 3.30pm (and then cancelled altogether, it was great). I said about Aston Martin yesterday, I can't imagine it being any other colour, well the same goes for Ferrari. This car is another classic Ferrari look, the iconic red with streaks of yellow and red added, swooping around the car. I like it but I am getting McDonald's vibes...  I've not seen much reaction to this car with me being at work all day but I have seen...

Aston Martin Car Launch 2024

Image
 (Photo from the Aston Martin Team Twitter/X) We're kicking off the week with another car launch, this time of Aston Martin. I entered the competition they held to be at the launch (obviously I didn't win cause I'd never have shut up about it for the rest of my life) but I didn't realise how early this car was being launched! I'd have had to set off from home at like 4am to get to Silverstone on time for this! Yes, I could have got a hotel nearby to crash in but I'm so skint from buying my ticket for Monza, I'd have to hope for a comfy bench or in the fetal position in the back of my tiny car. Anyway, we're all here for the car, not my life story... It's very similar to last year, a bit more simple perhaps. But, you know what? Why change perfection?!  I love the way the Aston looks. Yeah, I know I go on about how much I love majority black/carbon fibre liveries because I'm emo at heart but the Aston will always hold a place in my heart. This shad...

Visa Cash App RB F1 Team 2024 Car Launch

Image
  (Photo from the VCARB Twitter/X) Before I start, I will be referring to the team as VCARB instead of typing out the full name because it's bloody long (and silly). So, I had a taste of what it's like to live in Australia this week. VCARB scheduled their launch for 8th February. I woke up that morning, went to work, went to the gym, came home, slept for 7 hours and then woke up on the 9th at 6am AND STILL HAD NO CAR! Finally, another 30 minutes later the car launched. And it's giving Captain America vibes! Which is probably why they launched it in Vegas... Yeah it's fine, bit of a throw back to the Toro Rosso days and so far the most stand out on the grid. I don't really have much to say about it because I don't love it. But every time I see it, just know I will be singing the Captain America theme in my head. What do you all think? Let me know on the socials down below or in the comments. Twitter/X Instagram

Alpine 2024 Car Launch

Image
 (Photo from the Alpine Twitter/X account) Another day, another 2024 car launch! So I was at work when this launched. I was having a really bad day so I thought, screw it! I'm gonna watch the Alpine launch live. And I'm so happy I did! (Boss, if you're reading this I was also putting stock on hold and replying to emails, don't worry). I LOVE this livery! Again, it speaks to my little emo heart, but the blue and pink speaks to my obsession with the Barbie movie.  When I was looking at the comments on Instagram to see what everyone else thought, it seems that not everyone shares the same thoughts as myself. And I completely understand why. Most of the liveries launched this year (so far) have exposed Carbon Fibre (aka the black part of the livery). This not only looks aesthetically pleasing to my emo eyes, but it will also make the car lighter as it doesn't have an extra layer or seven of paint on it. People are even debating whether or not this 'livery design...

Stake F1 Team 2024 Car Launch

Image
  (Photo taken from Stake F1 Team Twitter) And we have the second car launch of the day! The C44 from Stake F1 Team. You might have noticed that I have started calling them by their official short name after joking around with the long ass name format in the last couple of posts. Why? Because this car is EVERYTHING! My little emo, halloween loving heart is OBSESSED with this car, oh my! Stake F1 Team have been teasing this livery for ages, using black and neon green graphics and this is the car I have been imagining since the first time they used the colour scheme. But also part of me feels like it's giving that little green guy from Minecraft (sorry I don't know the name but you all know who I'm talking about right?). Anyway, I really can't put into words how much I love this livery, it's definitely my favourite one so far but it's going to take a miracle to beat it. I guess time will tell! Let me know your favourite livery in the comments or on my socials, whi...

Williams 2024 Car Launch

Image
(Photo from the Williams Twitter account) Today we get not one, but two 2024 car launches! How lucky are we, being treated on a Monday! The first reveal was that of legendary British team, Williams, launching there car in... New York? Weird choice but okay! Honestly, I don't have a right lot to say about this. It's nice but it's typical Williams. It doesn't excite me. But maybe they've just been working on the performance of the car rather than making it look pretty and different than last year (tbh I can't even remember last year's car design...).  I say bring back the special Gulf livery from last year! That was gorgeous, unique but also screamed Williams. However, what did intrigue me today was the new race suits! They're kinda giving Rosberg/Hamilton Mercedes era. But the one photo that really caught my eye from the launch? Exhibit A:  They look like their Mum has just suggested sitting down as a family and watching Saltburn... Anyway, hopefully Stea...

Driver Contracts Ending in 2024

Image
  Well, I didn't think I'd be writing this post until like June time but since it looks like silly season has already kicked off, looks like I have no choice but to do this early! Let's look at driver contracts ending in 2024! Starting with what we already know. Charles and Lando have extended their contracts with their current teams, Lewis has abandoned Toto and co over at Mercedes to join Ferrari in 2025 (which will make for an awkward 2024...), which means my poor boy Carlos is currently out of a seat for next year. Straight up, the Lewis and Ferrari deal stinks of desperation from both parties. Lewis wants his 8th Championship and Ferrari want to win their first championship in over a decade when Kimi brought it home for them. Like, whatever, I get it for Lewis but Ferrari's performance hasn't been good the last few years so... And for Ferrari to replace the one driver of the team that won a race in a Red Bull dominated year with someone who hasn't won a rac...

HAAS 2024 Car Thoughts

Image
 (Photo taken from the HAAS X/Twitter account) So first of all, this is a lot later than I wanted to post this but for personal reasons, I got delayed writing about it. But that's not a bad thing, it gave me more time to think about the car and try and spot some differences. Let's face it, it's VERY similar to last year. However, I really liked the car last year, adding more black to the livery would always be a winner in my emo eyes. And for 2024 they have added yet more black and I'm still loving it! Let's just hope it performs better than the last car. I did see a quote from a recent interview with new Team Principal, Ayao Komatsu, stating that from the get go they will still be at the very back of the grid. Like, have you ever tried having an optimistic approach in life my dude? Don't go into it thinking it's gonna suck because it will definitely suck. Guenther didn't get his ass fired so you could just give up before the season even started... Anywa...