Baku Grand Prix 2023


Sprint Shootout
Charles Leclerc
Sergio Perez
Max Verstappen

Sprint Result 
Sergio Perez
Charles Leclerc
Max Verstappen

Qualifying
Charles Leclerc
Max Verstappen
Sergio Perez

Race Result
Sergio Perez
Max Verstappen
Charles Leclerc

Hope you all feel well rested after the spring break because we're all buckled in for five races in six weeks! That's right, back to back F1 baby! And to kick things off we are in Baku for the Azerbaijan Grand Prix. Not only are we back but we have our first sprint weekend of the season. And we've all heard about the new sprint weekend set up a million times so let's just get into it.

Honestly, the sprint race wasn't as spicy as I expected it to be, being on a tight street circuit. Thank god for Yuki's run away tyre for providing some entertainment. I think FP1, Qualifying and the Sprint Shootout was more entertaining and it's likely that in these three events held before the sprint, there were so many accidents that drivers were just being way more cautious, which is understandable. 

But I think the most entertaining part of the sprint happened when the race wrapped up. Yes, I'm talking about Max Verstappen having heated words with George Russell. Honestly, I was giggling! Verstappen was being so passive aggressive, it was so funny to watch. RIP George mate, if Max doesn't kill you, Jos will...

I joke of course!

Moving on to the actual race. 

Despite it being a pretty boring race for a street circuit, I had the best time watching this race! I watched it in a pub surrounded by local girlies from the group Girls Across the Grid. I met some amazing, like minded fans, I can't even describe how at home and welcome I felt. Special shout out to Roxanne for taking me under her wing because my friend was running late!

So as I said, it was a pretty boring race, Red Bull dominance continued but something insane did happen. The spiciest event of the race wasn't Nyck De Vries DNF'ing by putting his car in the wall but right at the end of the race, literally the last lap, Alpine decided to pit Ocon (unsure why) but because of this, Ocon nearly ran down a handful of journalists/photographers who had all gathered in the pits ready to get their celebration snaps! I'm not sure I've ever seen that happen before! Yes, we've seen stray tyres taking out media personnel before but not an actual car mid race...

The only other thing I want to touch on is, how did George Russell (good to see he's alive after crossing Verstappen yesterday) not get a penalty for his pitlane encounter with Stroll?! He was practically racing him! Honestly, I've just re-watched it and I don't understand how they didn't give a penalty?! Just another FIA blunder I guess. They really need set guidelines over there... And also the unsafe release of one of the Red Bull's went noted but ignored at the same time? Odd...

Anyway, I'm looking forward to Miami already. So glad we're finally getting more F1 content so quickly!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Inside F1 Book Review

Local Legend, Mike Hawthorn

Surviving to Drive Book Review