Canadian Grand Prix 2023
Qualifying result
Max Verstappen
Fernando Alonso
(After Hulkenberg received a penalty for speeding under a red flag)
Lewis Hamilton
Race result
Max Verstappen
Fernando Alonso
Lewis Hamilton
After a washout qualifying with it's fair share of penalties handed out, we finally went racing in Canada after a short break. We were definitely spoiled the double header. Imagine how deprived we'd have felt if Imola had been able to take place!
The first thing I want to touch on is the penalty handed to Lando Norris for 'unsportsmanlike behaviour'. This was passed out to him after Norris allegedly instructed his team to double stack him and his teammate and rookie, Oscar Piastri. The stewards and marshals then felt like Norris's pace down the back straight was 'leisurely' like he was trying to build a gap to avoid a slow pitstop with the double stack attempt. The stewards felt like this went against Article 12.2.1.I of the International Sporting Code which refers to the fairness of competition and attempts to influence results.
Anyway, that's the most technical thing I'll probably ever write, lets move onto my usual garbage!
Can we just take a moment to praise George Russell and the Mercedes mechanics for keeping that car in the race after hitting the wall in lap 12. Yes, he finally retired from the race during lap 53, with the team citing excessive brake wear as the reason, not damage from the crash. However, the fact that they could get the car back out on the track and climbing up the grid after such an aggressive hit off the sausage kerb in turn 8, was seriously impressive.
Fine, maybe I was still been technical!
I was really hoping that Lance would end up with a better result at his home Grand Prix, especially with the Aston's doing so well this year! Seems like his more experienced team mate is getting more out of the car, which is understandable but hopefully this partnership with help tutor Stroll and bring him some solid results in seasons to come.
Speaking of Aston Martin and Lance's more experienced teammates, I was in the petrol station today and a member of staff was talking about how boring this race was, how she turned it off half way through and it's not the same without Sebastian Vettel. Which yeah I miss him too but I find that it's not the same without Danny Ric as well... Especially the press conferences.
Anyway, next stop is Red Bull's home race, Austria! And I will be at my friend's wedding all weekend... May have to download F1 TV for the weekend...

Comments
Post a Comment